Showing Collections: 1 - 12 of 12
Art Song of Williamsburg Records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.58
Scope and Contents
This collection contains the records and paperwork related to Art Song of Williamsburg. This organization existed from 2000 through 2007 and was responsible for an average of three concerts a year. Their records include papers relating to their creation and termination, financial and tax records, biographies and contracts for the artists they featured, as well as inter-organizational correspondence between board members. Genevieve McGiffert was the founder and features prominently in the...
Dates:
2000-2007
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 B31
Scope and Contents
Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...
Dates:
1968-1982
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Lesslie Hall, Jr. Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 H14
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1937-1973, of Admiral John Lesslie Hall, Jr. of Williamsburg and Alexandria, Va. and while stationed at Pearl Harbor, San Francisco and Norfolk, Va. The papers are both personal and professional. The collection contains material concerning World War II Operations TORCH (North Africa), BIGOT-HUSKY, AVALANCHE (Salerno), NEPTUNE-OVERLORD, and as well as the Army-Navy joint agreement on Normandy. Also includes material pertaining to his work with the USO, the Naval War College, Army War...
Dates:
1893-1973
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Lawrence I'Anson Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 85 Ia6
Scope and Contents
Papers, circa 1938-1983, of Lawrence I'Anson, lawyer and justice of the Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals. Includes correspondence, invitations, programs, speeches, judicial opinions, certificates, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, photographs and scrapbooks.
Dates:
1938-1983
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Tuthill Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.03
Scope and Contents
Papers of John Wills Tuthill, a United States 20th century diplomat. The collection includes papers from Tuthill's years as a student and professor, his State Department career, his private career with international organizations and his retirement years. He held many positions within the State Department, mostly in Germany and Europe, with his final posting as Ambassador to Brazil. As a private citizen, he was Director of the Atlantic Institute, President of the Salzburg Seminar, and...
Dates:
1933-1998
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
League of Women Voters of the Williamsburg Area records
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 76 L47
Scope and Contents
Records of the League of Women Voters of the Williamsburg Area (LWVWA). Includes minutes, agendas, correspondence, publications, reports, photographs, memorandums, newsletters, president's files, video recordings and newspaper clippings. Topics covered include among others arms control, national security issues and domestic legislation, information relating to lobbying, etc.
Dates:
1932-2021
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Carter Lowance Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 L95
Scope and Contents
The personal and professional papers of Carter Lowance, executive assistant to six governors of Virginia: William M. Tuck, John S. Battle, Thomas B. Stanley, J. Lindsay Almond, Albertis S. Harrison and Mills Edwin Godwin. Papers also concern Harry F. Byrd, Sr. and Harry F. Byrd, Jr., and John N. Dalton. There are speeches, papers relating to Lowance's military career (including correspondence with his wife, Elizabeth Austin Lowance), awards received by Lowance, photographs, and papers...
Dates:
1860-1993; Majority of material found in 1942-1988
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Myers-Burrage-Graham Papers (I) Group B
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 M99 Group B
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1886-1942, of Vice-Admiral Guy Hamilton Burrage. Includes commissions, orders, correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks and medals. Includes material relating to his command of the "U. S. S. Nebraska" during World War I and the "U. S. S. Memphis" which returned Charles A. Lindbergh from Paris after his historic flight. There are also papers relating to his involvement in an attempt to resolve the Lindbergh kidnapping case in 1932. Addition to this...
Dates:
1888-1942
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
John Garland Pollard Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents
Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...
Dates:
1683-1968; Majority of material found in 1856-1937
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Frank Shatz Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00361
Scope and Contents
Correspondence and papers of Frank Shatz of Lake Placid, New York and Williamsburg, Virginia, 1965-2009. Subject matter of the collection is foreign policy, the Lake Placid Council on Foreign Policy, public funding for libraries and public television and radio, the endowment of the Reves Center for International Studies at the College of William and Mary and more. Includes Frank Shatz's World Focus columns from the Virginia Gazette.Cassette tapes in all the accessions have been...
Dates:
1965-2014
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William Booth Taliaferro Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates:
1811-1954
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
United Daughters of the Confederacy Records, Williamsburg (Va.)
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 92 U9
Scope and Contents
Scrapbook material from the Williamsburg Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy (UDC) consisting of newspaper clippings on the Civil War, veterans still living, battle reenactments, correspondence, yearbooks, programs, and other. Also included are papers concerning Confederate monuments in Williamsburg, as well as dealing with the Cross of Honor. One copy of "A History of the United Daughters of the Confederacy" is included.
Dates:
1890-1998
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center